All posts by Mark

I’m the founder of The Hawaii Project, a new book discovery engine. Previously I was responsible for Product Strategy and Product Management at Telenav, after they acquired goby. Prior to that I was the ceo of Goby, since acquired by Telenav. Before that I did time at Endeca, PTC, Netezza, Evans & Sutherland in a variety of R&D, professional services and business development roles. When I’m not obsessing over work, I’m a proud husband and father of two great kids, love to play tennis, am a compulsive reader and book collector, and am really into way too many different kinds of music. (What’s with the Viking you might ask? While the vikings were known to split a skull or two, I mean more the verb than the noun, as in “to go adventuring” in the sense of the Old Norse fara í víking. I’ve always been interested in the vikings and started using viking2917 as a handle to avoid spammers way back when, and have just kept using it….)

Hiking the Kamiloiki Ridge Trail

2015-12-07 11.05.15
Windward Oahu

Was going to hit the Makapuu Summit trail and look through the puka (that’s hole to you haoles). But, sigh, the trail is now “No Trespassing” (people not treating the mountain with respect and getting hurt on a trail where nobody needs to get hurt). So, I decided to try the Kamiloiki Trail that starts in the Hawaii Kai area of Oahu. This trail  is similar to Kuli’ou’ou Ridge Trail and Wiliwiliniu Trail (both of which I’ve hiked), in that it starts low on the Honolulu side and ascends to the ridge of the Koolaus, offering breathtaking views of the entire windward side of Oahu.

Key facts and tips:

  • 4.0 hours round trip to the summit, for me, a 50+ guy who’s done a fair bit of hiking and is in ok shape. If your legs are younger you can probably do it faster. I hit the trailhead at 9am in December and was back by 1pm. But, I spent an hour fooling around at the summit walking the ridge, you can do it less time if you need to.
  • Find the trailhead off to the left of the Heiau on Makahuena Place in Hawaii Kai, right next to the fence between the Heiau and the house nextdoor.
  • Much of the hike is overgrown – you’ll be walking at times in grass over your head with spiderwebs and such from time to time. Consider long pants (I wore shorts and was fine, but your mileage may vary). If you’ve got a bug thing, consider Kuli’ou’ou or Wiliwilinui if you want to get to the summit. In fact, if you haven’t done those trails, those are better  to do first.
  • It’s hot with not much shade. I brought 2 liters of water and drank it all.
  • Watch your step. Much of the trail you are walking in tall grass and can’t always see your feet, especially if you are on the lookout for spiderwebs. It’s easy to trip. Sprain an ankle up there and it’s a helicopter ride for you. And when you get to the top, please don’t be an idiot and fool around. Pay attention. People fall off up here and die.
Heiau
Heiau

The trail starts near a Heiau (an ancient hawaiian rock structure that had religious purposes). The Heiau is nestled right at the end of a residential cul-de-sac on Makehuena Place. Just sitting right there. Very cool.

The trail is a little hard to find – when looking at the Heiau, walk to the fence that borders the house on the left. Keep walking along the fence and you will find the trail – it’s a bit overgrown as of this writing (Dec 2015), but still visible.

2015-12-07 10.15.12
The grass is as tall as I am.

In contrast to both Kuli’ou’ou and Wiliwilinui, this trail is not used much (I saw no other person on my hike), and the trail is pretty overgrown, especially near the bottom. Pay close attention to ribbons strung from the trees – but in spite of that you’ll feel like Indiana Jones bushwhacking through the forest for the first half mile or so.  Then you’re up on the ridge and trail is much easier to follow, as it runs right up the ridge. It’s still pretty overgrown though. From the ridge you’ll quickly have great views of Honolulu, the ocean, and the back side of Koko Head.

About 2/3 of the way up, you’ll come out of the scrub and tall grass and into 3 shaded groves of Ironwood and Pine with a carpet of pine needles.

Ironwood Grove
Ironwood Grove

The shade feels wonderful and it’s nice not to be wondering how many spiders I acquired in the last hundred yards (none, as it happens). These three glades are your warning for the final ascent. The trail is a little hard to follow here, I picked the trail up off to the left after the 3rd glade. From there, you scramble up some inclines and into what looks like a small creekbed or water run off. Up, up, up, no switchbacks to break it up. In 30 minutes or so you’ll see blue sky break through, and then you are onto the ridge.2015-12-07 12.06.01

From the ridge you have breathtaking views of Waimanalo and the entire windward side of Oahu. From the ridge if you follow the trail to your right, in about 50 or 100 yards you’ll come out on another peak, where you have an amazing view of Makapuu Beach, Makapuu Lighthouse, and various Civil Defense radio towers and the area where the infamous Dead Man’s Catwalk is located. Not wanting a brush with local law enforcement, I decided to skip that part of the tour.

2015-12-07 11.18.00A powerbar and some water, and then back down the trail. Down is easier than up. But then you knew that. Without time for pictures and such at the top, you can do it in 2 hours up and 1 hour down.

2015-12-07 11.42.25
Rabbit Island looking back towards Makapu’u.

How Twitter could monetize the entire Internet in one click.

twitter

So, Twitter’s in a hole. User growth stagnant, stock price plummeting, laying people off, swirling questions around how/whether Jack Dorsey can fix things.

Herein, we offer a proposal for how Twitter, with a very modest effort, could monetize (almost) the entire Internet, gain enormous goodwill, juice their earnings, help save journalism, and help motivate new usage of Twitter. Get the Street Off Their Back while they fix other stuff.

If you ask the average person what annoys them about the internet, you’ll mostly get the same answer: ads. But ads are the way internet content businesses get paid. The “subscription” model for content hasn’t caught on, because the cost barrier is too high. Most people don’t want to commit to $10/month for access to a website, with so much “free” content out there. Twitter has the opportunity to become the defacto Content Subscription service. 

Here’s how:

Look at virtually any webpage these days and you’ll see a Tweet button. This button is powered by Twitter. Developed by Twitter, owned by Twitter, embedded via some javascript, which Twitter can easily change. If there’s one thing Twitter has, it’s this ubiquitous distribution via the tweet button.

Suppose when you Tweet an article you like, Twitter offers you a choice. Just tweet your link as usual. Or, make a small payment ($0.50?), tweet the link, and in return your browsing on the source site is ad free for the next month. Tweet out that Esquire link about how make a Martini, pay your $0.50 and your Esquire viewing is ad-free for the next month. Twitter keeps $0.25, gives $0.25 to the source site, and the source honors the “ad free” pledge for a month, via a cookie or something. Twitter could even distinguish between a “like” (a free tweet) and “love” (an article/tweet I liked so much I was willing to pay for it). And as more people learn they can do this, they’ll tweet more, generating distribution and viewers for the Publisher’s content.

This is the “tip” model of content monetization. Or “micro-Freemium”. Call it the Twitter TwipJar. It’s a win-win-win. Twitter gets $0.25 and enormous goodwill, the publisher gets $0.25 (vs about $0.0015 for an average monthly visitor, per below), and the consumer gets a wonderful ad-free viewing experience.NoiseTrade is doing interesting business this way in music and books, for artists, as an example proof-of-concept.

Now imagine the Twitter ad campaign: “An ad-free internet, brought to you by Twitter”. Twitter would be hailed as a conquering hero. Or — “Help the brands you love stay alive with the Twitter TwipJar”. Twitter wins.


People tweet about stuff. TV shows, events, sports, news articles…. content. 95% (99%?) of people only consume content, they don’t produce it. What’s the single most irritating thing about content? Ads. Ever try to read that stupid BuzzFeed article with a dozen ad flashbombs going off like an old Myspace page? Of course you have. And god help you if you’re trying to do that on your mobile phone on the train.

Why are all these web pages so loaded with ads? All those mid- and low-tier content sites are trying to stay alive in a world of “free”. But it’s hard to generate enough revenue by ads to survive, unless you grow to enormous scale.

The single most common irritant people express about the web is ads.

And it’s not that great for businesses either — here’s why:

  • CPMs are Terrible
  • The UX Impact is Terrible
  • The Impact on the nature of content itself is Terrible

CPMs are Terrible

Your average mid-tier website is lucky to get a $1 CPM on run-of-site ads. (CPM = Cost Per Mille, or the revenue per 1000 views of an ad). If you’re ESPN or Huffington Post, you can charge a higher CPM. Everybody else, not so much.

Let’s do the math on ARPU (Average Revenue Per User), to see the challenge. Let’s say your average visitor views 1.5 pages per month (most web traffic is “fly through” — read a page then leave). Then ((1 user x 1.5 pages) / 1000) * $1 CPM = $0.0015. That’s right. A visitor generates a tenth of a penny in revenue. 100 visitors yields $0.15. Not sustainable for long. That’s why most mid-tier websites eventually disappear, unless they grow fast or find another revenue source.

UX Impact is Terrible

Mid-tier publisher sites are usually buried in ads. To the point that the content itself is often near invisible, or inaccessible. (and on mobile devices, even slower!). Exhibit A, below: it’s pretty hard to find the “actual” content (vs. the ads) and the UX controls in this page:

Content Impact

The insatiable drive for pageviews has given rise to it’s own language describing bad content. Clickbait. Listicles. Trolling.

And in fact, in the page below, it’s arguable whether the “content” is even any better than the ads.

But you knew that. Ads suck. They create perverse incentives (who’s the customer? The reader, or the advertiser?). (That’s why, at The Hawaii Project, a personalized book discovery engine, we show no ads and are pursuing a “freemium” business model. The reader is the customer.)

If you want to get rid of ads, you have a limited set of choices. Pretty much the only one is to charge for your service — either with a paywall (as newspapers have experimented with in various forms), or via “Freemium”, having a free product plus charging some users a fee for access to advanced features.

But many sites, especially content-rich sites that are basically blogs in some form, don’t have an easy way to create premium features. And they don’t have a lot of developer resources hanging around.

What do they have? They have a “Tweet” button on most every page on the internet. The Twitter TwipJar gives them an easy way to monetize more effectively and provide a better user experience, and Twitter does the work!

More broadly, ad-driven Journalism is a race to the bottom. Lower cost content spun to generate more outrage, more titillation, more holier-than-thou, more page views — rather than content that is of sufficient quality people want to share it, and pay for it directly. A Twitter TwipJar might be the way to fund high quality content via frictionless micropayments. ($0.50 might be great for Bleacher Report but not enough for the New York Times, so Twitter might implement variable tipping, to allow big brands to define the tip size required to trigger the ad-free.)

This is an “everybody wins” scenario:

  • Consumer gets: An entirely optional ad free experience and the happiness of supporting a brand they love, while enhancing their own personal brand by tweeting interesting stuff and doing what they’re already doing.
  • Publishers get: Extra Revenue, User Happiness, Content distribution via Twitter. And with a small effort (just need to allow for an ad-free experience — cookies plus some modest site changes)
  • Twitter gets — extra revenue, enormous goodwill as the company that saved Publishing and Killed Bad Advertising, and more users (as people learn they can use twitter to get rid of ads). They could even hand out “badges”, similar to Facebook “likes”, for brands the consumer supports.

Twitter already has access to an enormous slice of the internet via the Tweet button. They wouldn’t have to field a giant sales force to distribute this, just work with what they have already done .To implement this, Twitter would need some kind of near frictionless micro-payments. But seems like Square (Jack Dorsey’s other company) knows something about payments and credit card processing.

And, in the same way that Facebook became the de facto authentication system of the web via Facebook Login, Twitter could become the de facto Content Subscription service via the Tweet button.

(this article was originally published on LinkedIn — thanks to John C Abell for reviewing a draft and providing great feedback, but his endorsement of this post’s content not implied).

Some great surfing books

While I’m not a surfer, I’ve always had a fascination with the sport. The mystical side of being in the ocean, the raw physicality of the sport, and the counter-culture and sub-culture of people who surf.

Here’s a list of some of my favorite books about surfing.

Tapping the Source is the classic surfer novel. Kem Nunn more or less invented the genre.

Tapping the Source

People go to Huntington Beach in search of the endless parties, the ultimate highs and the perfect waves. Ike Tucker has come to look for his missing sister and for the three men who may have murdered her.

The Dogs of Winter might be my favorite. Kem Nunn does surfer noir like nobody’s business.

The Hawaii Project

The Hawaii Project – personalized book recommendations

Here’s a look at the dark underbelly of surfer culture, set in Hawaii’s North Shore.

The Hawaii Project

The Hawaii Project – personalized book recommendations

Here’s a more positive view — the story of Eddie Aikau, Hawaiian hero.

The Hawaii Project

The Hawaii Project – personalized book recommendations

Here’s some other ideas:

Barbarian Days

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR BIOGRAPHY 2016 WINNER OF THE 2016 WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR PRIZE Surfing only looks like a sport. To devotees, it is something else entirely: a beautiful addiction, a mental and physical study, a passionate way of life.

The Hawaii Project

The Hawaii Project – personalized book recommendations

The Hawaii Project

The Hawaii Project – personalized book recommendations

The Hawaii Project

The Hawaii Project – personalized book recommendations

Kilometer 99

Malia needs to leave El Salvador. A surfer and aspiring engineer, she came to Central America as a Peace Corps volunteer and fell in love with Ben. Malia’s past year has been perfect: her weeks spent building a much-needed aqueduct in the countryside, and her weekends spent with Ben, surfing point-breaks in the nearby port city of La Libertad.

The Surf Guru

A book of brilliant, adventurous stories from the award-winning Doug Dorst. With the publication of his debut novel, Alive in Necropolis, Doug Dorst was widely celebrated as one of the most creative, original literary voices of his generation-an heir to T.C. Boyle and Denis Johnson, a northern California Haruki Murakami.

The Hawaii Project

The Hawaii Project – personalized book recommendations

Enjoy!

The Far Arena, by Richard Sapir

f

One part Gladiator, one part Jurassic Park. Eugeni was a Roman Gladiator (in fact, the best) under the emperor Domitian. Until he fell from favor after failing to kill a friend during a gladiatorial contest. The Praetorian guard was ordered to take him to the North Sea and kill him, but succeeded only in causing him to be frozen, and awakened two millenia later by cryogenic techniques. He’s discovered by Lew McCardle, Ph.D. texan hunting for oil. To keep the discovery secret, Lew enlists the aid of Semyon, a Russian cryonics specialist, and Sister Olav, a non who speaks fluent latin.

The book alternates between Eugeni’s life in Rome, and his experiences coming to grips with being alive, and being in the modern world. The scenes from ancient Rome are simply brilliant — historically accurate, by turns gripping and harrowing, and capture the intrigue of Rome. Interesting details (the Legionnaire’s equivalent of “combat pay” was called “nail pay” — because they wore out the nails in their sandals during long marches) are interspersed with wonderful characterizations. Eugeni is a brilliant character — he has the black humor of soldiers (“How are your pains?” — “My pains enjoy themselves immensely. I do not.”). The interplay between the wordly-wise Eugeni and cynical, aging Lew are priceless. The scene where Eugeni demonstrates in the modern word how brilliant a swordsman he is, is harrowing and devastating.

The modern scenes are done equally as well as the Rome scenes. So it’s hard to characterize the book. It’s one part fantastical historical fiction and one part modern day thriller, combined with a morally compromised realpolitik that drives the plot. It’s a great book, and the writing is smooth as glass. Can’t recommend this book more highly if you are interested in Rome or Gladiators.

As a bonus, here’s a list of other great books about the Roman world:

Happy Reading!

And, in Viking news…

lastDid you know that Bernard Cornwell’s wonderful Saxon Tales have been made into a series by the BBC? The first season is based on The Last Kingdom, and premiered Saturday night.

http://www.thehawaiiproject.com/book/The-Last-Kingdom-(The-Saxon-Chronicles-Series-1)–by–Bernard-Cornwell–5692

The first episode is awesome. There’s a touch of humor as a wordy priest nearly drowns Uthred while baptizing him, a touch of gore when Uthred’s older brother (the former Uthred)’s head is cut off and thrown at the feed of Uthred’s father, and some wonderful dragonship sailing. The series seems like it’s going to stay true to the novels and keep historical verisimilitude. Yay!